(National Eligibility cum Entrance Test): Unveiling the Gateway to Medical Education in India


The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is a prestigious and highly competitive entrance examination that serves as the gateway to medical and dental education in India. This standardized test, conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA), is the sole entrance examination for admissions to undergraduate and postgraduate medical and dental programs across the country. In this comprehensive exploration, we will delve into the NEET exam, covering its eligibility criteria, examination dates, and the wide array of courses offered through this examination.

To appear for NEET-UG, which is the entrance test for undergraduate medical and dental courses, candidates must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  1. Age Limit: As of the year of admission, candidates must be at least 17 years old. There is no upper age limit for NEET-UG.
  2. Educational Qualifications: Candidates must have completed their 10+2 (or equivalent) examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as mandatory subjects. They should have obtained a minimum aggregate of 50% marks (for general category) in the qualifying examination. For candidates belonging to reserved categories (SC/ST/OBC), the minimum aggregate required is 40%, while for PwD (Persons with Disabilities) candidates, it is 45%.
  3. Subject Requirements: In the qualifying examination, candidates must have passed in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English individually.
  4. Number of Attempts: Candidates can attempt the NEET-UG examination a maximum of three times until they reach the age of 25 (for general category) and 30 (for reserved categories).

The NEET-UG examination typically takes place in May each year. The examination pattern comprises multiple-choice questions (MCQs) from Physics, Chemistry, Biology (Botany and Zoology), and covers the syllabus of the 11th and 12th standard.

The duration of the examination is 3 hours, and it consists of 180 questions, with 45 questions in each of the four subjects. Each correct answer earns the candidate 4 marks, while an incorrect answer results in a deduction of 1 mark. The total marks for the examination are 720.

NEET-UG is the primary entrance examination for the following undergraduate medical and dental courses in India:

  • MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery): MBBS is a five-and-a-half-year undergraduate degree program, including a one-year mandatory internship. It is one of the most sought-after medical courses in India and prepares students to become medical doctors.
  • BDS (Bachelor of Dental Surgery): BDS is a five-year undergraduate degree program, which trains students to become dentists. Dental surgeons diagnose and treat various dental and oral health issues.
  • BAMS (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery): BAMS is a five-and-a-half-year undergraduate degree program in the field of Ayurveda, a traditional system of medicine in India. Graduates of BAMS become Ayurvedic doctors.
  • BNYS (Bachelor of Naturopathy and Yogic Sciences): BNYS is a five-and-a-half-year undergraduate degree program that combines naturopathy and yoga. Graduates focus on promoting natural healing and wellness.
  • BUMS (Bachelor of Unani Medicine and Surgery): BUMS is a five-and-a-half-year undergraduate degree program in Unani medicine, a traditional system of medicine. Graduates are known as Unani doctors.
  • BSMS (Bachelor of Siddha Medicine and Surgery): BSMS is a five-and-a-half-year undergraduate degree program in Siddha medicine, another traditional system of medicine. Graduates are known as Siddha doctors.
  • BPT (Bachelor of Physiotherapy): BPT is a four-year undergraduate degree program that trains students to become physiotherapists. They help patients with physical disabilities and injuries.
  • B.Sc Nursing (Bachelor of Science in Nursing): B.Sc Nursing is a four-year undergraduate program that prepares students to become professional nurses, providing care and support to patients in healthcare settings.

NEET-PG is the entrance examination for postgraduate medical courses in India. The eligibility criteria for NEET-PG include:

  1. Educational Qualifications: Candidates must have an MBBS degree from a recognized medical institution and should have completed or be in the process of completing their internship.
  2. Registration: Candidates should have a valid registration with the Medical Council of India (MCI) or the State Medical Council (SMC).

The NEET-PG examination is typically conducted in January each year. It consists of 300 multiple-choice questions and covers subjects studied during the MBBS program. The duration of the examination is 3 hours and 30 minutes. The questions are divided into Part A (50 questions) and Part B (250 questions). Each correct answer in Part A earns the candidate 4 marks, while Part B questions are marked out of 800. There is a negative marking of 1 mark for incorrect answers.

NEET-PG is the gateway to pursuing postgraduate medical education in various specialties. After successfully clearing NEET-PG, candidates can pursue Master of Surgery (MS), Doctor of Medicine (MD), or Diploma courses in various medical specialties, including but not limited to:

  • General Medicine (MD/MS/Diploma)
  • General Surgery (MS)
  • Pediatrics (MD)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology (MD/MS/Diploma)
  • Orthopedics (MS/Diploma)
  • Ophthalmology (MD/MS/Diploma)
  • ENT (Otorhinolaryngology) (MS/Diploma)
  • Anesthesiology (MD/Diploma)
  • Radiodiagnosis (MD/Diploma)
  • Psychiatry (MD)
  • Dermatology (MD/Diploma)
  • Emergency Medicine (Diploma)

These are just a few examples, as there are numerous other specialties available for postgraduate medical education through NEET-PG.

The journey through NEET, whether for undergraduate or postgraduate courses, is intensely competitive. The limited number of seats available in medical and dental colleges across India means that candidates must perform exceptionally well to secure admission to their desired courses and institutions.

Preparing for NEET demands dedication, hard work, and thorough knowledge of the subjects. Many candidates opt for coaching classes, study materials, and practice tests to excel in the examination.

NEET, both in its undergraduate (NEET-UG) and postgraduate (NEET-PG) forms, plays a pivotal role in shaping the medical and dental landscape of India. It offers aspiring medical professionals the opportunity to pursue their dreams and contribute to the healthcare sector. The eligibility criteria, examination dates, and the multitude of courses available through NEET make it one of the most significant and highly anticipated examinations in the country. NEET is not just an examination; it is a journey that demands dedication, resilience, and a commitment to excellence, paving the way for future doctors and healthcare providers to serve the nation and its people.

Scroll to Top